At the end of May, each division of the Meadows School of the Arts awarded students and faculty for their outstanding contribution to their division, the SMU community, and the student body. The CCPA department wishes to honor its 2020 award recipients.

Congratulations to these deserving CCPA students.

Darian Taylor, Marshal for Commencement

Taylor served as President of the SMU Student Body and double majored in CCPA at Meadows and public policy at Dedman. He was awarded the “M” Award, one of SMU’s most prestigious honors. Each year, as many as five faculty members and ten students receive this coveted award for their “above and beyond” contributions to the University.

Emma Castelan, Reader for Commencement

Kate Adams, A. Kenneth Pye Outstanding Greek Leader Award, Public Relations, and Strategic Communication Award, CCPA Fellow

A CCPA major, Adams was among the six recipients to have received the A. Kenneth Pye Oustanding Greek Leader Award. This is the highest award for Greek life at SMU and recognizes students based on scholarship, community involvement, campus involvement, and personal commitment to the ideals of their sorority or fraternity.

Alex Payne, Avella Winn Hay Award, Outstanding Senior in Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), Outstanding Student in Mustang Consulting

Payne won the Avella Winn Hay Award for her scholarly excellence, exemplary character and significant contribution to the SMU community.

Caroline Matthews, John L. Freehafer Memorial Award, Outstanding Student in Organizational Communication, Kappa Tau Alpha Initiate

Caroline was a CCPA and business double major. She is one of six recipients of the John L. Freehafer Memorial Award for having demonstrated an interest in student life, activities, and government and/or have shown a special interest in how people govern themselves.

Nicole Kiser, CCPA Outstanding Academic Achievement, Kappa Tau Alpha Initiate

Hank Cohen, CCPA Outstanding Student in Political Communication

Melanie Ekizian and Brooke Sinek, CCPA Outstanding Students in Public Relations and Strategic Communication

Jerry Crayton, CCPA Outstanding Student in Social Innovation and Nonprofit Engagement

CCPA Fellows
Kate Adams, Helena Burns, and Karna Small

Kappa Tau Alpha Initiates
CCPA: Nicole KiserCaroline Matthews, and Olivia Matthews
Public Relations and Strategic Communication: Kate Adams and Molly McNulty
Kappa Tau Alpha is an American collegiate honor society recognizing academic excellence and promoting scholarship in journalism and mass communication.

On behalf of the Corporate Communications and Public Affairs division, we congratulate these students and wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors.

For more information regarding the 2020 Outstanding Meadows Students and Faculty, click here.